The Forensic Sciences Department of the State of Tamil Nadu (India) is functioning in the "Forensic house" at 30A, Kamarajar Salai, Mylapore, Chennai -600004. The objective of this institution is mainly to render Forensic Science Service to the Criminal Justice Administration with quality as the prime concern. The Director, who is an academician as well as a scientist, is the Head of this Department. At present, the Department consists of the following:

Click to view the locations of  RFSLs and MFSLs

  • Main Laboratory in Chennai comprises  fourteen divisions. 

  • Regional Forensic Science Laboratories at nine places. 

  • Mobile Forensic Science Laboratories in 34 Police Districts / Commissionerates.

Contents Provided by
Forensic Sciences Department,
Forensic House, 30 A,
Kamarajar Salai,Mylapore,
Chennai - 600 004

Designed, developed and hosted by 
National Informatics Centre
Email: webadmin(at)