You are here

4,407 sq.kms
District Head Quarters
History And Geography

Woraiyur ,  a  part of  present  day Tiruchirappalli, was the  capital city of Cholas  from 300 B.C. onwards.   This is supported by archaeological evidences and ancient literatures.   There  are also literary sources which tell that Woraiyur continued to be under the control of Cholas even during the days of  Kalabhra     interregnum (A.D. 300 - 575).

Later, Woraiyur along with the present  day  Tiruchirappalli   and its neighboring   areas came  under   the  control of Mahendra    Varma Pallava I, who   ascended    the throne    in A.D. 590.   Till    A.D.  880,  according to the inscriptions,  this region was under the hegemony of either the  Pallvas or  the  Pandyas.  It was in A.D. 880, Aditya  Chola brought a downfall to the Pallava dynasty. From that time onwards Tiruchirappalli and its  region  became  a  part of Greater Cholas.  In A.D. 1225 the area was  occupied  by  the  Hoysulas.   Afterwards,  it came under the rule of later Pandyas till the advent of Mughal Rule.

Tiruchirappalli was for    some time under the Mughal rule,  which was put to an end  by the Vijayanagar rulers.  The Nayaks, the Governors of Vijayanagar   empire,   ruled  this  area  till    A.D. 1736.   It  was Viswanatha Nayaka who built the present day Teppakulam and the Fort.   The   Nayak   dynasty   came   to   an    end during the days of Meenakshi.

The   Muslims rules this  region  again with  the aid  of  either   the   French   or  the   English  armies.     For   some     years,  Tiruchirappalli    was     under    the    rule   of     Chanda  Sahib   and  Mohamed  Ali.   Finally  the   English   brought    Tiruchirappalli   and  other  areas  under  their  control.   Soon after the area was ceded to East India Company as per the agreement at the eve of the Kanatic war, Tiruchirappalli district was formed under the the Collectorship of Mr. John (Junior) Wallace in 1801. The    district  was  then under  the hegemony of  British for about 150 years till the independence of India.



Rice, Millets and Other Cereals, Pulses, Sugarcane (Gur), Groundnut , Gingili, Cotton (BL)


The most famous    land  mark   of this district   is    Rockfort   Temple.     This temple crowns a  massive  outcrop of rock, that soars 83 meters    upwards, from   the  surrounding   plains.  It is reached by a step flight of  437 steps cut into the rock. Halway up is  the Sri Thayumanaswamy Temple, dedicated to Lord Shiva.  It  has  a   100    pillared hall, and a Vimana. From    its     summit  we   will   get a fantastic   view   of    the  town    plus  its  other  main    landmark, Srirangam,  Cavery   River,   Coleroon River , Thiruvanaika Kovil