Tamilnadu is one of the most urbanised state in India. As per 2001 census 44.63% of the population in the State of Tamilnadu lives in the urban areas. Depending on the population and income of the urban local bodies, there are 3 types of urban local bodies.

  1. City Municipal Corporation

  2. Municipalities

  3. Town panchayats

Commissionerate of Municipal Administration Coordinates the various activities of the Municipalities and Municipal Corporations in the field of Tax Administration, Financial Management, Infrastructure development, Town planning, Urban health, Environment management , Schemes for Urban poor etc. in the State of Tamilnadu.

To facilitate the coordination of the Municipalities, 7 Regional Directorate of Municipal Administration are functioning at Chengalpet, Vellore, Tanjavoure, Madurai, Salem, Tiruppur and Tirunelveli.

RECENT NEWS can be accessed at    "What's New?"

Directorate of Municipal Administration, Ezhilagam,
Chepauk, Chennai - 600 005.
Telephone: 044-28570859, Fax: 044-28411364
Email: cma@cma.gov.in